Doing the right thing

Tennessee Titans linebacker Avery Williamson wore patriotic cleats despite the threat of a fine from the league.

Williamson, 24, planned to wear the shoes in honor of the 15th anniversary of the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks.

However, an NFL representative told him that he could violate the league’s uniform code, and he would be fined, according to The Tennessean newspaper.
But on Sept. 11, Williams came out of the team’s tunnel wearing the cleats in the opener against the Minnesota Vikings and wore them during the game.
Police unions have vowed to pay for Avery Williamson’s fines for wearing 9/11 shoes
“I don’t want to draw negative attention, so I’m just going to focus on playing the game,” Williamson told The Tennessean last week. “Once I heard from them, I didn’t even try to argue anything. I just left it alone. I didn’t want to press the issue.”

The shoes are emblazoned with “Never Forget” and “9-11-01.”

Williamson said he’d auction the cleats online, saying the proceeds will be donated to Warrior Wishes, a charity that honors Gold Star families, according to WKRN-TV.

Several teammates said they’d pay his fine if he wore the shoes. Others also offered to pay the fine for him, including four New York and New Jersey police associations, the Tennessean reported.

“The [Port Authority Police Benevolent Association] is the police department that has always patrolled the World Trade Center complex. On September 11, 2001, the PAPD lost 37 police officers at the World Trade Center, the largest, single loss ever suffered by a police department in the history of American law enforcement,” the union said in a statement.

“We read, with understandable interest, your piece on Avery Williamson and the NFL’s stance on Avery honoring the September 11th victims. We, along with the New Jersey State Police Benevolent Association, are offering to pay any reasonable fine levied by the NFL if Avery chooses to wear his 9/11 cleats,” it added, according to NBC’s ProFootballTalk.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Amazing he could have dissed the flag and been fine but he could not wear patriotic shoes?

  2. I’m boycotting the NFL and their inmate players. When they respect America, the following season will be another matter, but I don’t see it happening until the NFL gets hit in the wallet. NFL turned into real garbage.

  3. Agreed my wife and I are also boycotting the NFL my view is they are paid far too much here is my wifes take on disrespecting the flag and our national anthem.

    “This is Irene, and as much as I love football, the NFL CAN KISS MY RED WHITE AND BLUE ASS! I AM DONE WHEN OVERPAID PANSY ASSED CHILDREN DISS THE FLAG OUR VETERANS AND SOLDIERS HAVE SACRIFICED AND GIVEN THEIR ALL FOR! Seriously I will never watch another game as long as I live! THEN TO DO THESE DISPLAYS OF STUPIDITY ON 9 11 OF ALL DAYS! Find a better way to protest, no one is saying you cant but to diss my flag and the people who gave you the freedom to get that high priced job you have , the only thing oppressed here is your check book! Grow up and get some history lessons and know your definitions! I am tired of this BS, from children who know nothing and stand up for made up causes! If you want racism or anything else to end then stop shoving your made up causes in our faces! I could go on but this was my last straw, screw you N F L, you just lost a lot of fans I hope your all happy now!”

Leave a Reply

