Another Birthday has come and gone….

I am now a few days into the age of 52, it was a pleasant birthday, my wife bought me a Yamaha Acoustic guitar. and got me a cake. My daughters are both sick so they were banned from attending my cake-feed which meant I did not get to see my grand children either, but I am not in the market for a fresh case of the flu. Honestly, This was year sadness was in the air, my best friend of 30+ years has been working hard  relentlessly and taking care of his 83 year old mother. His sister took his mom out for the day, got her hair done, took her to lunch, did a little shopping and headed to her appointment at the Doctors office. As she was signing in for her appointment she collapsed, her heart stopped and she stopped breathing. A doctor rushed to her aid and after 6 minutes of chest compression’s they got her heart going and she was breathing again. Sounds like a happy ending right? Well at 83 and 100 pounds she was pretty frail, the chest compression’s broke her sternum and her lungs it turns out were packed with fluid. I got the call from my friend as he lives about 300 miles away down in the Bay Area. It was the first time I can remember that I heard him cry.His mother passed away three days later. I am going to travel back to my old stomping grounds which has become cesspool to spend a few days and attend the service. I will miss his mother as she would spend hours talking to me on the phone and I will miss that special way she had about her that made me feel she was always genuinely happy to see me.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Happy belated birthday young man!!!

  2. Thank you my friend 🙂

  3. Well Happy Birthday sir!! Sure hope it’s a good year for you! 🙂

  4. Hey buddy, I am so sorry to hear about your friends mom and sounds like she was a wonderful friend to you as well.
    So you play the guitar! I played Tenor Sax through high school, had a scholarship in college…..mostly played in our stage band; had to play in the concert band as well. So how long have you played?

Leave a Reply

