On Deaf Ears Perhaps?

Today, I found out about an awesome piece of legislation heading to the senate for a vote, it is the VAWA (Violence Against Women Act) Man I am all for stopping violence against women. Here though is the problem, on the back side of this legislation Senator Patrick Leahy has stuffed in another piece of legislation dealing with U-Visa. So if the VAWA bill is passed so will be a piece of legislation creating more visas and furthering the possibility some of the good old back door amnesty as well. So now I am torn, I cannot support the violence against women act because in doing so I would be supporting back door amnesty and increasing the number of visas available as well. So here is how Mr. Hate (Leahy) has stacked the deck.

1. Either vote for the VAWA Bill and show your support for women and your desire to protect them.

Or

Don’t vote for it because you do not agree that more Visas need to be handed out and no back door amnesty should be awarded to people who broke the law entering this country.

Either way Leahy wins because either he gets more Visas and Back Door amnesty for illegals or he gets to smear the conservatives by calling them heartless for failing to support the VAWA.

My hands are tied so I did the only thing I could do…I wrote my Senator. Being from Ca, well one might say I already understand I am up against the liberal machine in full force. But here is my letter….

Greetings Senator Boxer,

I have received information about a bill that is being pushed through the Senate VAWA (Violence Against Women Act) I have found out that attached to this bill is another piece of legislature dealing with the U-Visa and Immigration. The problem I have is that I am for anything that helps stop violence against women, but here is where the problem comes into play. I am not supportive of more visas or in any way granting any form of amnesty to any person who has entered this country illegally. Now I understand I am just one voice but I will tell you that what is wrong in California and Washington DC is pieces of legislation like this. A perfectly good idea VAWA is muddied by stuffing it with immigration legislation. Thus creating a talking point that does not allow a person to support part of the bill. So if a person was for the VAWA legislation but not the U-Visa legislation, a rock and a hard spot has been created and you and your fellow senators should try harder to not muddy the waters and do your best to stop “Back-Door” Legislation like this.

It is not right and I will tell you what will happen, a conservative will want to vote for the Violence Against Women Act but will not be supportive of the U-Visa legislation and right away the Conservative will be smeared as a person not supporting the VAWA bill. I am not alone in this understanding and I remember when you told the military man you worked hard for the title of Senator. But to stand by and allow this sort of thing to take place in our already broken government is a sign that the title is not taken seriously enough. We the People need a congress and a senate that understands this state is broke, this country is broke and we cannot afford the pet projects put forth like the U-Visa legislation and like what Senator Schumer was pushing for 10500 guest worker visas for the Irish. What about we the People? When did being an illegal alien trump being an American born citizen of this country? When are you going to stand tall for Americans and against those who would drive this country deeper and deeper in debt? We cannot afford the weight of the number of illegals getting services in this country. They are being rewarded with a free ride for breaking the law by entering this country illegally. When is the Congress and the Senate going to take the right stand and face the problem without the tint of political ideology?

You Senator Boxer have now been challenged to do what is right for the country. Forget about left or right serve the people not the party. Can you do that, did you ever have any thought of doing that at any time during your runs for your senate seat? If so what happened to that perfectly wonderful idea? Was it easier to bow like our president than to stand your ground and fight for the people of this state, this Nation. I mean what the hell happened to serving We The People? Last time I checked, that was how government was supposed to work…..

Sincerely,

My Name
My Town, Ca”

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Great find and glad you are tearing into yet another treasonous attempt to destroy American sovereignty through back-door means. Back-door entry into the country defended by back-door legislators.

  2. It never ends…A continual vigil must be maintained because they are pushing this crap on a daily basis.

  3. And the reply from the senator has been made….

    “Dear Mr. My Name:

    Thank you for taking the time to write and share your views with me. Your comments will help me continue to represent you and other Californians to the best of my ability. Be assured that I will keep your views in mind as the Senate considers legislation on this or similar issues.
    If you would like additional information about my work in the U.S. Senate, I invite you to visit my website, http://boxer.senate.gov. From this site, you can access my statements and press releases about current events and pending legislation, request copies of legislation and government reports, and receive detailed information about the many services that I am privileged to provide for my constituents. You may also wish to visit http://thomas.loc.gov to track current and past federal legislation.
    Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. I appreciate hearing from you.

    Sincerely,

    Barbara Boxer
    United States Senator
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Perhaps it is just me but this is just one more politician not addressing the topic. Like I said before, on deaf ears.

Leave a Reply

